Travel news For Members

IN DETAIL: Norway announces major Covid-19 travel rules shakeup 

Frazer Norwell
Frazer Norwell - [email protected]
IN DETAIL: Norway announces major Covid-19 travel rules shakeup 
Norway will be opening its borders to more travellers. Photo by Anna Gru on Unsplash

From Monday, more and more people - including some travellers from the USA - will be able to enter Norway as part of a significant change to Covid travel restrictions. Here is everything you need to know. 


On July 5th, Norway will finish harmonising its coronavirus country classification system with the EU's system and make some significant changes to its travel rules and requirements that will open the country to more travellers from both inside and outside of the EU and EEA. 

The switch will see the majority of EEA countries classified as green, meaning infections are low enough for safe entry, and Norway will also open up to some travellers from outside the EEA wishing to visit family or their significant other for the first time in over six months

New system for classifying countries 

The shakeup will see the Norwegian green, red and dark red classification system replaced with the EU's thresholds and travel advice. Norway will now classify countries as green, orange, red, dark red and purple. You can take a look at the new thresholds for infections here.


The green, orange, red and dark red classifications only apply to countries in the EU, EEA and also the UK. Some countries from the EU's third country list will be classed as purple. Entry for travellers from outside the EU, EEA and not from a purple country will still be limited to citizens and residents, bar a few exceptions

READ MORE: Delta Covid-19 variant likely to delay the final step in Norway’s reopening plan

Green countries

Entry to travellers from green countries will be open to everyone, regardless of their reason for travelling or their vaccination status.

Travellers from green countries are also exempt from quarantine and getting tested before travel. However, they will need to test at the border upon arrival and fill out the entry registration form

Belgium, Bulgaria, Estonia, France, the Faroe Islands, Greece, Italy, Croatia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, the Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, the Vatican City and Austria will all be green countries from July 5th. 


Greenland and Iceland were already green

The following islands/archipelagos will also turn green:

Greece: Ionian Islands, Crete, North Aegean Islands

France: Corsica

Portugal: Madeira

Italy: Sardinia and Sicily

Orange and red countries

Orange and red countries will be treated the same as one another for now.

Entry will be restricted to residents, citizens and the family and partners of residents and citizens. Testing before travelling to Norway, filling out the registration form, testing at the border and entry quarantine at home or another location with a separate bedroom and bathroom for a minimum of seven days will apply to travellers from these countries. 

Ireland, Cyprus, Latvia, Monaco, the Netherlands, Andorra, Spain and the United Kingdom will all be red. Portugal will be orange.

The following islands/archipelagos turn red or orange:

Portugal: Azores (orange)

Spain: Balearic Islands (orange), Canary Islands (red)

Greece: South Aegean Islands (orange)

Dark red countries

The same rules for travellers from red and orange countries will also apply to those from dark red countries - with one exception. At least three days of the quarantine period must be spent in a quarantine hotel.

There are currently no countries on the dark red list.

Purple countries

A select few countries from the EU's third country list, or whitelist, will be classified as purple. This means that travellers from these countries will only be able to visit close family and partners and travel for tourism is out. 

Close family is described as children and stepchildren (regardless of age), grandparents, great grandparents, grandchildren and great children. 

Partners will need to have been together for at least nine months, met in person and fill out a free application with the Directorate of Immigration (UDI). Partners will not need to submit proof of the relationship. You can take a look at the application here

Australia, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, New Zealand, Northern Macedonia, Serbia, South Korea, Taiwan, USA and Singapore will be classified as purple. 



Comments (2)

Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

Anonymous 2021/07/02 17:02
And what would the US have to do to become a green country?
Anonymous 2021/07/02 17:00
What are the criteria for the different color countries-is it the infection rates?

See Also