Editions:  Austria · Denmark · France · Germany · Italy · Norway · Spain · Sweden · Switzerland

Norway part of NSA's '9-eyes' gang

Share this article

Norway part of NSA's '9-eyes' gang
08:43 CET+01:00
Norway is one of the US's most trusted collaborators in intelligence-gathering, with a place in the National Security Agency's "9-eyes" coalition of privileged countries, the UK's Guardian newspaper has reported.
According to the paper the group, which adds Norway, Denmark, France and The Netherlands to the "5-eyes" collective of major English-speaking countries, enjoys access to selected US intelligence in exchange for sharing intelligence from their own countries. 
Minutes from Britain's GCHQ intelligence agency, obtained by the Guardian from the NSA whistleblower Edward Snowdon, suggest that Germany is jealous of Norway's status. 
"The NSA's relationship with the French was not as advanced as GCHQ's … the Germans were a little grumpy at not being invited to join the 9-Eyes group," the minutes read. 
Norway's intelligence agencies signed their first secret deal with the Americans in 1952. 
Get notified about breaking news on The Local

Share this article

From our sponsors

Change the world with a master's degree from Sweden's Linköping University

Master's students at world-leading Linköping University (LiU) aren't there simply to study. They solve real-world problems alongside experts in fields that can create a better tomorrow. Do you have what it takes to join them?